Refugee from Fedora

Home Page Forums users Refugee from Fedora

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      jmiahman
      Participant

Hello My name is JMiahMan. I’ve been around the Linux community for a while. In the last few years I picked up doing a few projects one of which was Unity-Linux a RPM based distro. In the last few years I had based it on Fedora as a spin. I automated a lot of my pacakges in gitlab using gitlab runners and did my ISO builds using dnd (docker in docker) using an ISO tool I hacked together (I am not a programmer) in GoLang loosely based off the off Pearl App called mklivecd. So long story short as I am sure you know Fedora dropped 32bit support with 31. I have quite a few devices left (a few EEEPCs etc..) that work but are unfortunately still 32bit. Fedora has left me in the dust.

So I was left with a few options.
      1. The huge task of repackaging a 32bit kernel and 32bit pacakage from Fedora src rpms.

2. Find a larger distro to rebase like Mageia that is close to Fedora and rpm based, but most likely doesn’t need my help, so anything I build will be just for me.

3. Find a smaller distro that may need my help and contribute what I do upstream.

So I have searched out rpm based distros and ran across Mamba and I am wondering if you need help? I would much rather find a distro to help and contribute to then support these larger projects. If you’re interest let me know and I will start setting up a build environment for Mamba and get to work 🙂 If not good luck with your future endeavors.

• This topic was modified 4 years, 3 months ago by jmiahman.
      Silvan
      Keymaster

Hi JMiahMan,
      welcome and thank you for your interest in openmamba.